Reckless Driving By Failing To Signal in Virginia is punished under Virginia Code §46.2-860. That law states:
Va Code §46.2-860. Failing to give proper signals.
A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who fails to give adequate and timely signals of intention to turn, partly turn, slow down, or stop, as required by Article 6 (§46.2-848 et seq.) of this chapter.
Under this law, the police officer must be able to prove that you failed to give an adequate and timely signal of your intention to turn, partly turn, slow down, or stop to another vehicle that was close enough to be affected by your movement.
Virginia Code §46.2-848 states that if you intend back, stop, turn, or partly turn from a direct line and there is another vehicle close enough to you to be affected by your movement, you must give the proper turn signal, light signal, or hand signal so that your intention to make such movement is plainly visible to the other vehicle. You must continuously signal your intention for at least 50 feet if the posted speed limit is 35 mph or less, or for at least 100 feet if the posted speed limit is 40 mph or higher.
For example, it is considered Reckless Driving By Failing To Signal in Virginia if there is another vehicle 25 feet behind you in an adjacent lane and you change into that adjacent lane without using your turn signal.
By Michael Huff, Esq.